jet ski

this morning started off like many others.

the pain in my heel, my back, and my head.  millions of tiny jackhammers chipping away at innumerable nerve endings.  never ending, never comfortable, never finding peace no matter what position i sought.

getting old sucks.

in spite of this i managed to find some solace in a hot cup of oro coffee.  i strolled out to the dock and watched the day wake up.

the hammering started to fade.

then the buzzing began.

incessant, insistent, and annoying as hell.  (yes, i’ve been there.  second marriage.)

i looked up to see a jetski cutting through the water at the very top speed it could muster.  as close to the docks and piers in the harbor as it possibly could get.  apparently unaware that there is an eighteen mile stretch of expansive sea just 100 yards away.

with no discernible purpose (other than burning off what is probably an excess of fossil fuel and an eagerness to compete for the upcoming darwin awards) it sped back and forth, forth and back, from one side of the harbor to the other.

in a straight line.

it’s only because maureen (not her real name) bought me a pack of bacon that he’s still alive.

it would have been an easy shot.

5 Responses to “jet ski”

  1. Gah! Jet-skis are the recreational vehicle of Satan. When I lived on the coast they ruined many early mornings on the beach, just going back and forth, back and forth. How is that even fun?!

  2. Mean Gene Says:

    I wasn’t aware of any noteworthy Honduran intellectuals in the world, so jet skis in the harbor is no surprise.

  3. Hi. I’m just here from BlogExplosion and I came across your bloggy. It’s really nifty and I enjoyed reading it. I hope you’ll stop by and check out my blog as well. 🙂 I’d love to have you visit.

    I’m going to add your blog to my reader so I can keep up with your posts.

    Have a great week!

  4. Instructor Maureen (not my real name) Says:

    It’s good to know that bacon can save lives.

    See Jim? I’m still learning. Off to the fair tonight to investigate that chocolate-dipped bacon phenomena for you. Beau (not his real name) said that he sounded tasty, actually.

    Be well.

  5. Hate them too Jungle. By the way – just saw a photo of a very young Jungle posted by Skye… you should have a look!

Leave a Reply

