nightmare

it’s been a long time since i’ve had a nightmare.

oh, there have been times when i just couldn’t sleep because i felt a roiling in the force that told me my ex wife was awake and actively searching for life forms to torment.

but i’ve been able to dig into my psychic lead-lined bunker and evade her hunger for quite some time now.

this was something different.

something sinister, cold and soulless.  (not unlike my ex wife; more like “same,same, only different”.)

i was lying in my comfy little (ok, that’s figurative) bed snuggled up against the rain and wind, fortified by a few drams of my favorite rum drifting into that kind of sleep that let’s you know all’s right with the world when…

my cell rings with a text message:  “just took the ribs off da grill, rib eyes next.  Wish u were here.”

“wha…?  ribs?  grill? steaks?  but these things don’t exist in my universe…  where?”

“walk away from the light.”

i knew of these things but couldn’t quite place exactly what they were.  how was this possible?

i tossed and turned.  i knew these things represented something wonderful and rare…but what?

i wrapped myself tighter in my bedclothes hoping to choke myself into unconciousness so as to escape the torture of this foul beast.

my cell again.  “YUMMMMMMMM :)”

i fell asleep screaming.

when i woke up half of my pillow had been eaten away.

19 Responses to “nightmare”

  1. … Brisket is on the grill smoking, Cowboys coming up… all is right with the world.

    Sorry bout your pillow 🙂

  2. I’ve been very lucky, never had one.

  3. The Brisket was nummylicious.

    Sorry abou the other half of the pillow 🙂

  4. Aw man… I lose more good pillows that way!

    Cruel! (And to me too, as I’m hungry now! )

    Thx for sharing, I got a good laugh 🙂

  5. I feel sorry for that half of the pillow. 🙂

    E.

  6. Hey Jungle,

    Texas Roadhouse last night….. I thought about taking a picture to send you… then I thought… naw, that would just be cruel & heartless…. so of course I did it 🙂

    Miss ya, get Ceiba a beer from us.

  7. Rtbgirl Says:

    Just because I haven’t tortured you in awhile, doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten about you 🙂

  8. Rtbgirl Says:

    REAL Echiladas, Chili con carne, refried beans, REAL sour cream, hot sauce to pickle your innards and a kick ass margarita.

    Sure did miss you 🙂

  9. Yummm, crisp taco shells last night.

    Hey Jungle, Red River Rivelry today. The feast is on. Expect harassment tonight!

  10. Hey Jungle,

    This is off topic from RTBgirl but she got me some kick ass, I think, hot sauce I’ll bring back with me?

    Reading the label it states “A great cooking ingredient for sauces, soups and stews. Also, strips waxed floors and removes driveway grease stains. Enjoy”

    And then come all of the warnings, we’ll just have to see about them later I guess. But it will be a couple of weeks for that.

    B

  11. Hey Jungle,

    How bout them Longhorns 🙂

    Harass you tonight after ‘da Boys play.
    E

  12. Way too depressed to harass you bout da Boys 😦

  13. Jungle….. it’s been awhile.
    Must I release my flying Monkeys?

  14. Monkey’s are released. Prepare for attack!

  15. JUNGLE!!!!

    How am i supposed to live vicariously if you won’t write???!!!!

    😦

  16. Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped.
    Elbert Hubbard (1856 – 1915)

  17. Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
    Bernard Berenson (1865 – 1959)

  18. Stupid is forever, ignorance can be fixed.
    Don Wood

  19. Ignorance gives one a large range of probabilities.
    George Eliot (1819 – 1880)

Leave a Reply

