oreo cookies

i love me some oreo cookies.

give me a hot cup of coffee and a fresh packet of oreos to start the day and i may just smile at a divemaster trainee.

so it was a little disappointing to find that i had eaten the entire stock of oreos at my neighborhood store with three days left until the supply boat came in.

it was with much anticipation and a heightened sense of anxiety and increasing surliness that i watched the hours stroll slowly by until the supply boat came in.

as the hours stretched interminably into minutes i found myself kicking at puppies, scowling at babies, and threatening divemaster candidates with almost herculean underwater tasks while desperation grew inexorably into irrational rage while waiting until the supply boat came in.

the blessed day arrives.

i sit across the street watching boxes being lifted out of the truck and thrown to the ground. “wait! that’s fragile!”, screamed the voice inside my head, “you’re going to crumble up the cookies!”.

i wait through the daily siesta when everything is closed up.

at 2:20pm i hear the sound of a 4-wheeler. i know that sound. it’s the owner coming to open the shop for the afternoon.

i begin to wag my tail. (don’t tell me you’ve never done that.)

finally the new packets of cookies are on the shelf. i dash in, grab one, and dash back to the shop.  (after paying of course)

i begin to hum a song. (“crew sluts” from zappa’s “two hundred motels”)

i pour a cup of coffee and sit down.

i open the pack.

they’re stale.

13 Responses to “oreo cookies”

  1. Lust is a punishable sin.

  2. with a face like this you think i haven’t been punished!?

  3. Yumm, crisp crackers at Bush’s this week 🙂
    It’s the little things in life!

  4. it must be good to be making that much money.

    us little people don’t live that high on the hog.

  5. Don’t I wish!

    … but it does pay to follow Capt. Willie around at night & pick up the Salva Vida bottles he leaves in the park.

    Those suckers are worth a fortune!
    🙂

  6. You guys are so cute when you argue……

    Hope all is well on the rock. Keep up the blogging Jungle. Each post gives me a good chuckle.

  7. Paul Herring Says:

    Hey, Jungle,

    How are you doing? I am coming down April 3 thru Aug 1st. Staying at the same old place as last time. Ann says to tell you we’ll bring oreos cookies and whatever else you need. Man I’m glad to see you back in action again. send me a reply and I’l tell you all the skinney!

    Paul

  8. Wanna make his day? add a bottle of JB Black Label to the mix…. although not a combination most sane people would consider, it seems to work for him… but then again, who ever said Jungle was sane 🙂

  9. Hey Trey, you’d think we were married the way we bicker…. come to think of it, Jungle did mention I reminded him of an Ex-Wife.

    Somehow I don’t think he meant it as a compliment 😦

  10. Well that’s just not right.

    Hey ya’ll I’ve set up a “Utila Living” group over at Yahoo along the lines of the Roatan Living board. Seemed like it might be a worthwhile thing for those living (or wishing we were) on Utila. Hope you’ll stick your head in from time to time and tell your friends.

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/utila-living/

  11. UTLgirl Says:

    Jungle….. time for a new post. The natives are gettign restless 🙂

  12. I enjoy your humor and I’m gGlad I found your blog. Maybe someday I’ll get lucky enough to move to Utila…

  13. UTLgirl Says:

    So Jungle, Paul brought you Oreos & you didn’t share the loot. Yeah, I’ll remeber you next time I’m at Bish’s when the fresh big bags come in!

Leave a Reply

